What don’t we know about veterans?

The Huffington Post posted “5 Things You Didn’t Know About Veterans (And How You Can Support Them)“, and it made me wonder what else the world (and myself) don’t know about veterans.

Personally I didn’t know the following:

  • The Veterans Act prohibits firing a veteran from employment due to the presence of a temper (my boyfriend shared that with me)
  • It’s considered proper to say “Happy Birthday” to a Marine on the Marine Corps birthday (NCIS taught me that)
  • Some veterans do not want to be thanked for their service (this post on Veterans For Peace taught me that)

What didn’t you know about veterans that you’ve learned? Share with me.

Leave a Reply

