Veterans don’t get the respect and media coverage they deserve

What’s more important to this society…Jon & Kate Plus 8 or a news story about a man arrested for impersonating a war veteran?

The answer makes me sick to my stomach.

A recent Re-Tweet by @OperationPTSD brought me to the point where I needed to write this post:

RT @OpGratitude: Via @usmcwife8999: How about we forget Balloon Boy and focus on those who never ask for thanks but deserve it! #honorvets

I reminded me of a screen capture I have stored on my flash drive for the very day I wanted to write this post. When I JonKateOverVeteranswas writing my post about the impostor veteran exposed in Colorado, an article on CNN stuck out to me when I saw their list of Most Viewed articles.

More people reading CNN.com cared more about Jon & Kate’s made-for-tv dramatic lives, than someone impersonating a veteran in an attempt for financial gain, someone making a mockery of everything veterans served and serve for for this country.

The thought of it bothers me to no end.

I do partake in celebrity gossip once in awhile, but I prefer to indulge myself in quality journalism because it has substance and is what should matter to this society.

The harsh reality is…if it has substance, people don’t want to read it. If it’s about some celebrity crying about how their husband, boyfriend, girlfriend, or nanny cheated on them…everyone is interested.

What will make quality more important than what’s sensational?

I want to hear your opinion.

2 responses to “Veterans don’t get the respect and media coverage they deserve

  1. Pingback: O.A.R Says Support The Troops With New Website and Campaign « It's a Veteran's World

  2. Pingback: O.A.R Says Support The Troops With Open Up Your Arms Campaign « It's a Veteran's World

Leave a Reply

